SUNDAY MORNING COMING DOWN.

"Well, I woke up Sunday morning
with no way to hold my head that didn't hurt
and the beer I had for breakfast wasn't bad
so I had one more for dessert


Then I fumble in my closet
through my clothes and found my cleanest dirty shirt
and then I washed my face and combed my hair
and stumble down the stairs to meet the day


I smoked my mind the night before
with cigarettes and songs that I've been pickin
But I lit my first and watched a small boy
cussin at a can that he was kickin


Then I crossed the empty street
and caught the Sunday smell of someone's fryin chicken
and it took me back to something
that I'd lost somewhere, somehow along the way




On a Sunday morning sidewalk
I'm wishin Lord, that I was stoned
cause there's something in a Sunday
that makes a body feel alone


And there ain't nothing short a dying
half as lonesome as the sound
of the sleeping city sidewalk
and Sunday morning coming down




In the park I saw a daddy
with a laughing little girl that he was swinging
and then I stopped beside a Sunday School
and I listened to the songs that they were singing


I'm crying to the sheets

And then I went on down the road
and somewhere far away a lonely bell was ringing
and it echoed through the Canyons
like the disappearing dreams of yesterday




On a Sunday morning sidewalk
I'm wishin Lord, that I was stoned
cause there's something in a Sunday
that makes a body feel alone


And there ain't nothing short a dying
half as lonesome as the sound
of the sleeping city sidewalk
and Sunday morning coming down
"




Sunday morning coming down, Kris Kristofferson
covered by J R Cash









Kommentarer
Postat av: Suzette

Lite såld på Johnnan va? Hehe...

2012-04-29 @ 11:03:52
URL: http://suziettan.blogg.se/

Lämna gärna en kommentar, då blir jag glad :) !

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

mina unika besökare
fr o m 2/1-12
totalt:
denna vecka:
idag:

RSS 2.0